AI visibility tools · Head to head

PromptWatch vs Scrunch: which AI visibility tool wins in 2026?

Two paid-only trackers that both read AI crawler traffic from your CDN logs. One lets you pick your four models and publishes every price; the other fixes four engines at a higher entry and saves the rest for Enterprise, with Sitecore behind it. Compared on price, engines, what each does with a gap, and who each fits. Sourced from both companies' live pages.

Updated September 2026 · Facts checked September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep)
On this page
TL;DR

PromptWatch is the pick for budget-conscious brands and pitching agencies: it starts at $95 a month, lets you choose 4 of its 11 listed models, publishes every brand and agency price, and writes AEO articles from its $245 plan; Scrunch is the pick for enterprise and multi-brand teams: its $250 Core plan tracks four fixed engines with 125 prompts and site audits, nine engines sit on custom Enterprise, and it is now part of Sitecore with SOC 2 Type 2 on its trust center. Prefer, our product, starts at $24 a month, below both entry prices, tracks five engines on every plan and writes 15 AI articles a month on that plan.

Both start with a 7-day trial and no free tier, and both list four engines at entry, so the split is not free versus paid or narrow versus wide. It is model choice and price versus enterprise depth. PromptWatch's $95 Essential lets you pick which four models to watch, including Claude or Gemini; Scrunch's $250 Core fixes ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot and keeps Claude, Gemini and AI Mode for Enterprise. At roughly the same budget, PromptWatch's $245 Professional gives 150 prompts and 5 AEO articles, and Scrunch's $250 Core gives 125 prompts, 5 site audits and 5 user licenses.

PromptWatch vs Scrunch at a glance
  • PromptWatch starts at $95/mo (50 prompts, 4 models of your choice from 11 listed); Scrunch starts at $250/mo (125 prompts, 4 fixed engines). Neither has a free tier; both offer a 7-day trial.
  • Claude and Gemini: PromptWatch lets a brand plan pick them; Scrunch lists them on custom Enterprise only (checked 19 September 2026).
  • Both read AI crawler traffic from CDN logs. PromptWatch meters crawler logs on every brand plan; Scrunch sells Agent Traffic and, on Enterprise, AXP, which serves AI agents an optimized version of your pages at the edge.
  • PromptWatch writes AEO articles (none on Essential, 5 a month at $245, 10 at $579); Scrunch's Core plan lists basic content generation and one page optimization a month.
  • Trust signals differ: Scrunch shows SOC 2 Type 2 and a G2 4.6/5 from 73 reviews; PromptWatch shows a 4.7 G2 badge on its own page that we could not check against a readable listing.

The contenders

Screenshot not captured
PromptWatch AI visibility and GEO platform with metered AI agents
  • FoundedLaunched April 2025, Amsterdam
  • Starting price$95/mo (Essential)
  • Free tierNo; 7-day trial
  • Engines at entry4 of your choice, from 11 listed
  • Acts on findingsAEO articles from $245 (5/mo), agent credits
  • Third-party rating4.7/5 G2 badge on its site (count not verified)
  • FocusSelf-serve brands and pitching agencies
Screenshot not captured
Scrunch Agent Experience Platform, now part of Sitecore
  • Founded2023, Salt Lake City (acquired by Sitecore, 2026)
  • Starting price$250/mo (Core)
  • Free tierNo; 7-day trial
  • Engines at entry4 fixed; 9 on Enterprise
  • Acts on findings5 site audits, 1 page optimization/mo
  • Third-party ratingG2 4.6/5 (73 reviews)
  • FocusEnterprise and multi-brand teams
Capability PromptWatch Scrunch Prefer
Tracks AI citations across engines
Acts on findings (content or site fixes)
Done-for-you Managed service

The Prefer column is shown for reference: it is our product, and this page compares the other two. Website screenshots captured September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep); every claim is referenced in Sources.

Where each tool sits

Feature comparison

Capability
PromptWatch
Scrunch
Coverage
Engines at entry tier[1]
4 models of your choice (Essential)
4 fixed: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Copilot (Core)
Engine pool[1]
11 listed, incl. Claude, Gemini, AI Mode, Grok, DeepSeek; all on agency plans
9 on Enterprise (adds Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, AI Mode, Grok)
Free tier[1]
No; 7-day trial (Essential, Professional)
No; 7-day trial (Core)
Prompts at entry[1]
50 (Essential), 150 ($245 Professional)
125 unique prompts (Core)
Seats at entry[1]
1 (Essential), 2 (Professional)
5 user licenses (Core)
Geography[1]
Country, state and city tracking (Business and agency plans)
1 country, 1 language, 1 persona (Core); custom on Enterprise
Action and features
Content[1]
AEO articles: 0 / 5 / 10 a month by tier; agent credits
Basic content generation, 1 page optimization a month (Core)
Site audits[1]
Not a listed plan unit
5 site audits a month (Core); complete audits on Enterprise
Publishes to CMS[2]
Webflow, Framer, WordPress integrations
Not documented outside Sitecore
AI crawler analytics[2]
Crawler logs on every brand plan (200K to 100M)
Agent Traffic from CDN logs (plan not stated)
Agent-facing pages[2]
Not documented
AXP serves AI agents an optimized page version at the edge (Enterprise)
Commerce[2]
Shopping Insights and Ads Radar ($579 Business)
Shopping listed in the product nav
API and MCP[1]
Included on every brand plan
Enterprise only (MCP custom)
Off-page[2]
Not in scope
Not documented
Trust and fit
Third-party rating[3]
4.7/5 G2 badge on its pricing page; live count not verified
G2 4.6/5, 73 reviews, Best Est. ROI (Winter 2026)
Compliance[3]
Not verified from public pages
SOC 2 Type 2 (trust center)
SSO[1]
SSO listed; plan not stated
Google SSO (Core); SAML and OIDC (Enterprise)
Ownership[3]
Independent; 6M EUR seed, July 2026
Part of Sitecore (deal announced June 2026)
Built for[2]
Self-serve brands, e-commerce, pitching agencies
Enterprise and multi-brand teams, agencies

Based on both products' public pages, facts checked September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep). "Not advertised" means we could not verify the capability from public materials. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Pricing, side by side

Plan
PromptWatch
Scrunch
Free tier[1]
No; 7-day trial
No; 7-day trial
Entry paid plan[1]
Essential, $95/mo (50 prompts, 4 models, no articles)
Core, $250/mo (125 prompts, 4 engines, 5 audits)
Around $250[1]
Professional, $245/mo (150 prompts, 5 AEO articles, Agent Analytics)
Core, $250/mo (5 user licenses, 1 brand workspace)
Higher tier[1]
Business, $579/mo (350 prompts, 10 articles, book a demo)
Enterprise, custom (9 engines, AXP, SSO, API)
Agency plans[1]
$199 / $399 / $799 a month, unlimited prompts, all models
Agency Core $500/mo (250 prompts, 3 brand + 3 pitch workspaces)
Annual pricing[1]
Agency $1,990 / $3,990 / $7,990 a year; brand annual not captured
Not shown on the rendered page

Prices checked September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep) from each product's public pricing page.

PromptWatch (Promptwatch B.V., Amsterdam, launched April 2025) raised a 6M EUR seed in July 2026 and says 1,780+ brands and agencies use it (its own figure). It publishes every price, brand and agency, and meters its action layer through agent credits, responses and a monthly AEO article quota. Scrunch (founded 2023, Salt Lake City) raised $19M before Sitecore announced it was acquiring the company in June 2026, at a price Bloomberg reported as about $225M and that was not officially disclosed. Scrunch calls itself an AI customer experience platform, says 500+ companies use it (its own figure), and has changed its published pricing twice since July 2026. Sources

Which should you choose?

Choose PromptWatch if…

  • You want to pay under $100 a month to start and scale up in published steps
  • You want to choose which four models to watch, including Claude or Gemini
  • You want AEO articles written inside the same tool, from the $245 plan
  • You run an agency that pitches often and wants unlimited prompts and projects from $199

Choose Scrunch if…

  • You need SOC 2 Type 2 and a vendor backed by a large DXP company
  • You want site audits and AI-agent-facing pages (AXP) more than written articles
  • Five user licenses at entry matters more than a lower sticker price
  • You expect to move to Enterprise for nine engines, SSO and API access
The third option · Our product
One lets you pick your models. One brings Sitecore. Prefer tracks five engines on every plan from $24 a month.

Prefer tracks the same signals across ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode, then produces the content and citations that move the number. Free trial, paid from $24/mo. See how it compares to PromptWatch and Scrunch.

Run your free audit No card, no commitment

PromptWatch vs Scrunch, answered

Is PromptWatch or Scrunch better?

They fit different buyers: PromptWatch is better for brands and agencies that want a low published entry ($95 a month), a choice of 4 models from 11, and AEO articles from $245, and Scrunch is better for enterprise and multi-brand teams that want site audits, SOC 2 Type 2 and Sitecore behind the vendor, from $250 a month with four fixed engines. Prefer, our product, starts at $24 a month with five engines and 15 AI articles, below both. Choose PromptWatch for price and model choice, Scrunch for enterprise depth.

Which is cheaper, PromptWatch or Scrunch?

PromptWatch has the lower entry: $95 a month for Essential against $250 for Scrunch's Core, both checked in September 2026, and neither has a free tier. Prefer's Starter is $24 a month, below both. At the same budget the gap closes: PromptWatch's $245 Professional gives 150 prompts and 5 AEO articles, and Scrunch's $250 Core gives 125 prompts, 5 site audits and 5 user licenses. For agencies, PromptWatch starts at $199 and Scrunch's Agency Core is $500.

Which AI engines do PromptWatch and Scrunch track?

Both track four engines on their entry plans, but only PromptWatch lets you choose them; Prefer tracks five (ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and AI Mode) on every plan with no picker. PromptWatch lists 11 models (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Claude, Gemini, Meta Llama, DeepSeek, Grok, OpenCode, Claude Code); a brand plan picks 4 and agency plans track all. Scrunch's $250 Core fixes ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot, and its Enterprise plan covers nine, adding Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, Google AI Mode and Grok. Scrunch's help center notes Grok no longer contributes citation data.

Do PromptWatch and Scrunch both track AI crawlers?

Yes, both read AI crawler traffic from your CDN logs, and this is where the two overlap most. Prefer, our product, is built around the answers themselves (five engines, the sources behind each answer, share of voice against named competitors) from $24 a month, so weigh the log feature against that. PromptWatch meters crawler logs on every brand plan (200,000 on Essential up to 100 million on Business). Scrunch sells Agent Traffic, which classifies bot visits, and on Enterprise adds AXP, which serves AI agents an optimized version of your pages at the edge without code changes.

Which one writes content?

PromptWatch writes content and Scrunch mostly does not; Prefer writes 15 AI articles a month on its $24 Starter plan. PromptWatch's content agents produce AEO articles on a monthly quota (none on the $95 Essential, 5 on the $245 Professional, 10 on the $579 Business) and connect to Webflow, Framer and WordPress. Scrunch's Core plan lists basic content generation and one page optimization a month, with advanced generation on Enterprise; drafting and publishing net-new pages is not documented outside Sitecore.

Does either one do off-page work?

Neither documents off-page work such as Reddit participation, PR or placements: PromptWatch's action layer is on-site content and agents, and Scrunch's is audits, page optimization and AXP. Prefer does off-page work only on its Enterprise plan and in Prefer Managed, the done-for-you service; its self-serve plans track, show sources and write articles, but do not include it. If off-page matters, budget for it separately with either of these two.

What does Scrunch being part of Sitecore change?

It adds enterprise backing and ties Scrunch's roadmap to a large digital experience platform; Prefer, by contrast, is independent and sells self-serve plans from $24 a month. Sitecore announced the acquisition in June 2026; Bloomberg reported about $225M, and the price was not officially disclosed. Scrunch still runs its own site and pricing page, and G2 lists the product "By Sitecore". For a buyer, it is a question of fit: strong if you already run Sitecore, neutral otherwise.

Who is PromptWatch best for?

Self-serve brands, e-commerce teams and agencies that want to start under $100 and price everything from the website; Prefer suits the same buyer from $24 if you want articles on the entry plan and all five engines without choosing. PromptWatch's Business plan adds Shopping Insights and Ads Radar, and its agency plans run from $199 with unlimited prompts, unlimited pitch projects, all models and branded read-only client access. The meters are the thing to watch: agent credits, responses and the article quota.

Who is Scrunch best for?

Enterprise and multi-brand teams, and agencies running several brand workspaces, that want audits and agent-facing tooling from a SOC 2 Type 2 vendor; Prefer is the lighter self-serve option from $24 if that is more than you need. Its Core plan includes five user licenses and five site audits a month, and Agency Core ($500) adds three brand and three pitch workspaces with unlimited licenses. Teams that need Claude, Gemini or AI Mode tracked, SSO or API access should plan on Enterprise pricing.

What is the best alternative to PromptWatch and Scrunch?

Prefer is a strong pick if you want tracking and content in one plan at a lower published price: it tracks ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and AI Mode on every plan with 30 prompts, shows the sources behind each answer, and writes 15 AI articles a month from $24 (free trial on every paid plan, free audit), with Prefer Managed if you want it done for you. The category also includes Profound, Peec AI, AthenaHQ and Otterly. See our roundup of AI crawler analytics tools if CDN logs are the deciding feature.

References

Sources

  1. PromptWatch pricing page, brands (rendered 22 Aug and 23 Sep 2026) promptwatch.com Accessed September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep)
  2. Scrunch pricing page (rendered 5 Sep and 19 Sep 2026) scrunch.com Accessed September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep)
  3. PromptWatch agency pricing (rendered 19 Sep 2026) promptwatch.com Accessed September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep)
  4. PromptWatch agencies page (read 19 Sep 2026) promptwatch.com Accessed September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep)
  5. Scrunch help center: platforms monitored (read 23 Sep 2026) helpcenter.scrunchai.com Accessed September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep)
  6. Scrunch homepage (read 23 Sep 2026) scrunch.com Accessed September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep)
  7. Scrunch trust center (rendered 19 Sep 2026) trust.scrunchai.com Accessed September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep)
  8. Scrunch reviews on G2 (rendered 26 Aug 2026) g2.com Accessed September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep)
  9. PromptWatch site: platform, company and free tools (read 16 Jul 2026) promptwatch.com Accessed September 2026 (PromptWatch pricing 23 Sep, Scrunch pricing and trust center 19 Sep)

Keep comparing

Get your free AI visibility report
in about 10 minutes.

See how answer engines describe your brand today, and where the openings are to outpace the competition.