Buyer's guide

11 Best AI Visibility Tools With MCP Access (2026)

Prefer includes MCP access from its Growth plan, with API access on the same plan. Eleven AI visibility tools with MCP servers compared on plan gate, tool list, write access and API, sourced.

Pricing and features checked 26 September 2026 against each vendor's public site

The short answer

Three picks, for three situations.

Which AI search visibility tools have MCP access?

Prefer does: MCP access starts on Growth ($129 a month) and queries all five engines Prefer tracks, with API access on the same plan. Cituna publishes the fullest documentation (16 named tools, reads from $39, writes on Pro). PromptWatch ($95) and Otterly ($189) include MCP and API on one plan and have write tools per a dated inventory. Qwairy has MCP on Starter ($89), ZipTie sells REST and MCP as a $10 add-on, and SE Ranking bundles MCP with API credits on Core ($129). Peec AI, Profound, Asva AI and LLM Pulse document servers whose plan gate we could not confirm on a pricing page.

MCP across five engines Prefer MCP and API from Growth on all five engines it tracks
Best documented server Cituna Sixteen named tools with the plan each needs, reads from $39
Best for write access PromptWatch MCP and API from $95, create and publish tools named on an inventory

DisclosurePrefer publishes this list and ranks itself first. We have not connected to the rival servers ourselves. Every rival fact comes from the vendor's own page or a dated third-party inventory, named next to it, and every rival price from a rendered or dated read of the vendor's pricing page. Where a source is an inventory rather than the vendor, we say so.

In short

The takeaways, up front.

  • Eleven tools on this page document an MCP server; only three (Cituna, Qwairy, PromptWatch) include it on the first paid plan without an add-on. Prefer's MCP starts on its second plan, Growth.
  • A tool list is rarer than a server. Cituna (16 tools) and Asva AI (7) name theirs on the vendor page; PromptWatch, Otterly, Profound and SE Ranking are counted by third-party inventories; Prefer, Qwairy and ZipTie describe the data without naming tools.
  • Write access is the exception: an inventory names write tools for PromptWatch (createContent, publishContentLive) and counts 6 for Otterly; Cituna gates its four writes to Pro; Profound is read-only by design and Prefer keeps writes in its app.
  • Prefer is our pick and our product, for MCP across five engines inside a product that also does the work. It is not the pick if you want the cheapest MCP entry, tool names in the docs today or write tools over MCP.
  • One vendor page claims to be the only AI visibility platform with an installable MCP server. Ten rows here, each with a dated source, say otherwise.

How we evaluated

Four criteria. Nothing else counted.

Prefer includes MCP access from Growth ($129 a month), across all five engines it tracks, with API access on the same plan. Ten other tools document MCP: Cituna has the fullest tool list (16 tools, reads from $39), PromptWatch and Otterly have write tools per an inventory, ZipTie sells REST and MCP as a $10 add-on, and Peec AI, Profound and Asva AI publish no plan gate.

01
Which plan turns it on

MCP on the entry plan, on a higher plan, as an add-on, or on a custom contract are four different prices. We recorded the gate from the vendor's pricing page where we rendered it, and from a dated inventory where we did not.

02
Whether the tools are named

A server you can plan around has a published tool list. We noted whether the vendor names its tools, whether only a third-party count exists, or whether the page describes the data in prose.

03
Read, write, or both

Reads are reporting. Writes let an agent queue scans, draft or publish. We recorded which vendors document writes, on which plan, and from which source.

04
What the API adds

Some tools ship the REST API on the same plan as MCP, others one tier up or on Enterprise. We noted where it sits, because a reporting pipeline usually needs both.

The scores

Every tool, the same five numbers.

Each dimension is scored 0 to 5 on the scale below and the overall is the plain average, so you can check every number against the facts on this page. Prefer is our product and is scored on the same scale.

Tool MCP on entry planEngines behind the dataDocumented tool listWrite accessPrice of first plan with MCP Overall
Cituna 5.05.05.04.05.0 4.8/5
PromptWatch 5.04.03.05.04.0 4.2/5
Otterly 3.04.03.05.03.0 3.6/5
Qwairy 5.05.01.01.04.0 3.2/5
Prefer (our product) 3.05.02.02.03.0 3.0/5
SE Ranking 5.03.03.01.03.0 3.0/5
ZipTie 4.03.02.01.04.0 2.8/5

How each number is set

  • MCP on entry plan: included on the lowest paid plan with no add-on = 5; on the lowest plan as a paid add-on = 4; on the second plan = 3; on a top or custom plan only = 1.
  • Engines behind the data: AI engines the first plan with MCP tracks, included in its price. 5 or more = 5; 4 = 4; 3, or every engine available but each one priced separately = 3; engines only through a paid add-on = 2 (SE Ranking scores 3 because its Core plan carries the MCP and the four-engine AI Search add-on is priced beside it); not described = 1. Prefer: five on Growth. Cituna: seven on Starter. Qwairy: ten on every plan. PromptWatch: four models on Essential. Otterly: four on Standard. ZipTie: seven available, priced per engine.
  • Documented tool list: tool names published by the vendor = 5; a count or names on a dated third-party inventory = 3; the data described in prose with no names = 2; nothing found = 1.
  • Write access: write tools documented on the first plan with MCP = 5; write tools on a higher plan = 4; read-only by design or stated = 2; no write tool documented = 1.
  • Price of first plan with MCP: under $50 = 5; $50 to $99 = 4; $100 to $199 = 3; $200 or more = 2; no published price = 1. Add-ons needed to turn MCP on are added to the price.

Scored 26 September 2026 from the facts on this page: each vendor's pricing page as dated in Sources (Qwairy and SE Ranking rendered 26 September, Otterly and PromptWatch 23 September, ZipTie from its page HTML on 26 September), the vendor MCP pages for Cituna and Asva AI, the four dated inventories, and Prefer's docs and plan facts. Prefer's row uses the same rules as every other row, and it scores 2 on the tool list and on write access because its docs describe the server as a way to query data without naming tools. REST API depth is not scored here because it is a different surface with its own page; the engines dimension asks what the MCP can actually query. Where a tool count or write tool comes from a third-party inventory rather than the vendor (PromptWatch, Otterly, SE Ranking), the score uses it and the item says so. Peec AI, Profound and Asva AI are not scored because no source we read states the plan that includes MCP or its price; LLM Pulse is not scored because its only source is its own ranked list. All four stay in the ranked list on what is documented.

Three kinds of tool

They are not all the same product.

First-party remote servers

Prefer, Cituna, ZipTie, Qwairy, PromptWatch, Otterly, Peec AI, Profound, Asva AI, LLM Pulse, SE Ranking

The vendor hosts the server and you connect with a key or OAuth. What differs is the plan gate, whether the tools are named, and whether any of them write.

Buy one if you want the data in Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor without building anything.

Community servers

A 38-tool Peec AI server, plus several on the awesome-seo-mcp list

Built by third parties on top of a vendor's API. Useful when the official server is thin, but unsupported by the vendor and dependent on an API key you may not have on your plan.

Buy the underlying API plan first, then decide whether the community server is worth the maintenance risk.

API-only tools

LLMrefs (API on its $79 plan, no MCP found), AccuRanker (API on LLM Pro), HubSpot AEO (neither mentioned on its product page)

You get endpoints, not an assistant connection. Any MCP would be one you build or a community wrapper.

Buy one if you already have a data team and a reporting stack, and MCP is a nice-to-have.

The ranked list

Every tool worth shortlisting.

Prefer first (our pick and our product). The rest by the price of the first plan that includes MCP, lowest first; tools whose MCP plan is not documented in a source we read go last.

01

Prefer

tryprefer.com
MCP and API on Growth MCP and API from $129/mo (Growth)

Prefer is our product. MCP access starts on Growth ($129 a month); Starter has no MCP, no API and no data export. You generate an MCP key in Settings under Integrations, API and MCP, connect it to any MCP client, and query your tracked prompts, mentions, citations, sentiment and share of voice across all five engines Prefer tracks: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode. API access is on the same plans, scheduled warehouse sync is Enterprise only, and Agency Enterprise lists full API and MCP access together. Growth also carries 75 drafted articles a month and the prioritized action engine. The integrations docs describe what the server exposes; they do not publish a tool-by-tool list, and writing stays in the app on purpose: drafting, publishing and queued fixes run through Action Center, where each change is tied to a prompt and re-measured afterwards.

Strengths
MCP reads the data the dashboard shows: prompts, mentions, citations, sentiment and share of voice across all five engines Prefer tracks
The work that changes answers sits in the same product (drafted articles and the prioritized action engine on Growth, off-page work on Prefer Managed and Enterprise), so a finding from the assistant has somewhere to go
API access on the same Growth plan when a reporting pipeline needs endpoints too
Limitations
Not the cheapest MCP here: Starter has none, and Cituna, LLM Pulse, ZipTie, Qwairy and PromptWatch all start below Growth
The docs describe the server in prose; they do not list tool names, which Cituna, Asva AI and PromptWatch (via an inventory) do
Read path only. Write actions run in the app, not through MCP
VerdictPick it if you want the numbers from five engines in your assistant and the work done in the same product. Skip it if you want the cheapest MCP entry, a published tool list, or write tools over MCP today.
02

Cituna

cituna.com
Best documented server Reads from $39/mo; writes on Pro $119/mo

Cituna's MCP page (updated 12 September 2026) documents a hosted server at mcp.cituna.com/mcp and an npm path (npx -y cituna-mcp), with sixteen tools: twelve reads and four writes. Named reads include whoami, get_visibility, get_engine_answers, list_gaps and gsc_query; writes include run_scan, set_gap_status, queue_article and mark_article_published. Reads are on the $39 Starter plan, writes on Pro ($119) and Max ($399), and none of it is in the free trial. The page says plainly that MCP is not unique to Cituna and points to its pairing with Google Search Console as the rarer part. Its FAQ covers REST API availability, but the read we relied on does not record what it says, so the API column is unverified.

Strengths
Sixteen tools named on the vendor's own page, split into reads and writes, with the plan each needs
Reads from the cheapest rival plan on this list, and a Google Search Console tool inside the same server
Limitations
Write tools start on Pro at $119 a month, three times the Starter price
Not available during the free trial, so you cannot test the server before paying
VerdictThe cleanest documentation here. Budget for Pro if you want the four write tools. Visit site →
03

ZipTie

ziptie.ai
Best pay-as-you-go Prompts from $42.75/mo plus $10/mo add-on

ZipTie prices by prompt slots and engines rather than by plan, with preset starting points from $42.75 a month, unlimited teammates and projects. Its pricing page (read from the page HTML on 26 September 2026, not a rendered check) lists an API and MCP Access add-on at $10 a month: REST at api.ziptie.ai plus an MCP server at api.ziptie.ai/mcp, which exposes every prompt, response, mention, citation, sentiment score and competitor metric. It names Cursor, VS Code and Claude Code as direct connections and Claude Desktop through the local mcp-remote bridge, and publishes rate limits (60 requests a minute per token, 600 a minute per workspace, 50,000 a day; one MCP tool call counts twice). The surface stays off during the 7-day trial. Its docs site is a JavaScript shell in raw HTML, so we could not read a tool list.

Strengths
REST and MCP together for $10 a month, with rate limits published on the pricing page
Seven engines including both Google and Bing AI Overviews, and no overage charges
Limitations
No tool list we could read; the docs site did not render in our fetch
Off for the whole trial, and the prompt count behind each preset price needs a rendered check
VerdictThe cheapest way to add MCP to a small tracking budget. Ask for the tool list before you rely on it. Visit site →
04

LLM Pulse

llmpulse.ai
Largest claimed tool count Self-serve from EUR 49/mo (vendor's own list)

Everything we know about LLM Pulse's server comes from its own ranked list, 'Best MCP Servers for AI Visibility in 2026', published 17 August and updated 14 September 2026, which ranks LLM Pulse first. It states about 85 read and write tools and MCP on self-serve plans from 49 euros a month, and its method (unauthenticated tools/list calls on 12 August 2026) is the source for several rival counts on this page. We did not check its pricing page for the MCP gate in this batch, so treat the plan and the count as the vendor's claims. Its agency pages, read for our white-label roundup, also list an API and an MCP server on Partner plans.

Strengths
The largest tool count claimed on this page, reads and writes, on a self-serve plan
Publishes a checkable method for counting rival servers, which is more than most vendors do
Limitations
Every fact here is from its own ranked list; we did not confirm the gate on its pricing page
Prices in euros, and extra models such as Claude are add-ons on its plans
VerdictPromising on paper. Confirm the plan gate and tool list on its pricing page or docs before you buy on the count. Visit site →
05

Qwairy

qwairy.co
MCP on Starter, API on Growth MCP on Starter $89/mo; API on Growth $229/mo

Qwairy's pricing page (rendered 26 September 2026) lists MCP server access on Starter, $89 a month for one workspace, 1,300 credits and up to 100 prompts, and the REST API from Growth at $229. Every plan covers ten engines including ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Claude, Grok, Mistral and DeepSeek, with daily, weekly or monthly runs and unlimited team members. CitedIndex's census (updated 12 September 2026) files Qwairy under 'included, no extra gate'. Neither source lists the tools the server exposes.

Strengths
MCP on the entry plan with ten engines, Claude included
Unlimited team members and a monitoring cadence you choose
Limitations
The REST API sits on Growth at $229, so MCP and API are not on the same plan
No published tool list in the sources we read
VerdictA strong entry plan if you want Claude and Grok in the data your assistant reads. Ask for the tool names. Visit site →
06

PromptWatch

promptwatch.com
Best for write access MCP and API from $95/mo

PromptWatch's pricing page (rendered 23 September 2026) lists MCP and API access on the $95 Essential plan, which also carries 50 prompts on 4 models and 500 agent credits, then Professional at $245 and Business at $579, with a 7-day trial. The endpoint and tool names come from a third-party inventory, Best GEO Software (6 September 2026): server.promptwatch.com/mcp, read tools such as getCitations, getCompetitorHeatmap and listContentGapPrompts, and write tools createContent and publishContentLive. CitedIndex's census agrees on the $95 gate. PromptWatch's own pages, in our reads, name the feature without listing the tools.

Strengths
MCP and API on the same entry plan, with a 7-day trial
The only server here where an inventory names a publish tool (publishContentLive)
Limitations
The tool list comes from a third-party inventory, not from PromptWatch's own docs in our reads
Essential carries 50 prompts on 4 models, so the data behind the tools is thin on the entry plan
VerdictThe pick for write access. Check the tool list against PromptWatch's own docs before you build on it. Compare vs Prefer →
07

SE Ranking

seranking.com
Best inside an SEO suite Core $129/mo; AI Search add-on $89/mo

SE Ranking's subscription page (rendered 26 September 2026) lists '25K API credits and MCP access' on Core, $129 a month, and '100K API credits and MCP access' on Growth at $279; Enterprise adds the full API. AI search tracking (AI Overviews, AI Mode, Perplexity, ChatGPT) is the AI Search add-on at $89 a month for 200 prompts, so the first plan whose MCP returns AI visibility data is Core plus the add-on. A standalone API plan starts at $179 and advertises connecting SE Ranking data to AI assistants over MCP. LLM Pulse's inventory counted 217 tools on the server on 12 August 2026, roughly 40 of them touching AI search, and the awesome-seo-mcp list (hand-checked September 2026) records it as an official server with a published endpoint.

Strengths
MCP and API credits on the entry plan, and by far the largest counted tool surface
One server for rank tracking, audits and AI search, if you already live in the suite
Limitations
AI visibility prompts need the $89 add-on, so the useful entry price is $218 a month
Gemini is not named on the AI Search add-on card
VerdictRight if SE Ranking is already your SEO suite. A standalone AI visibility buyer pays for a lot of tools they will not call. Visit site →
08

Otterly

otterly.ai
MCP from Standard MCP and API from $189/mo

Otterly's pricing page (rendered 23 September 2026) lists API and MCP access on Standard, $189 a month for 100 prompts with Agent Analytics, and not on Lite at $29 for 15 prompts. CitedIndex's census (updated 12 September 2026) records the same gate. LLM Pulse's inventory counted 17 tools on the server, 11 reads and 6 writes, from an unauthenticated tools/list call on 12 August 2026. Foglift's guide (September 2026) lists Otterly among the vendors publishing an official MCP surface. Tracking is daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot; Gemini, Claude and AI Mode are paid add-ons.

Strengths
MCP and API on the same plan, with daily tracking and write tools counted by an inventory
Unlimited workspaces on Standard, so agency use does not add a fee
Limitations
The $29 Lite plan has neither API nor MCP, so the real entry price is $189
Tool counts come from a third-party check; Otterly's own page names the feature, not the tools
VerdictGood if Standard is already the plan you need. Nobody should buy Lite for MCP. Compare vs Prefer →
09

Peec AI

peec.ai
Official remote server Plan gate not stated in our sources; API on Enterprise

The awesome-seo-mcp list on GitHub (every entry checked by hand in September 2026) records Peec AI's official remote server at api.peec.ai/mcp with API-key auth, next to a community Peec server with 38 tools. Foglift's guide (vendor docs reviewed in August and on 19 September 2026) lists Peec among the vendors publishing an official MCP surface and puts its REST API on Enterprise only. Peec's agency price list, read for our white-label roundup, mentions reports sent on a schedule through its MCP or agent. Neither inventory states which Peec plan turns the server on, so we have not scored it.

Strengths
An official remote endpoint with a stated auth method, verified by a hand-checked inventory
A community server with 38 tools exists alongside it
Limitations
The plan that includes MCP is not stated in any source we read
The REST API is Enterprise only, per Foglift
VerdictA real server with a real endpoint. Ask Peec which plan includes it before you count on it. Compare vs Prefer →
10

Profound

tryprofound.com
Read-only, Enterprise Enterprise custom; API on Enterprise

LLM Pulse's inventory found 17 tools on Profound's MCP surface, read-only by design, in an unauthenticated tools/list call on 12 August 2026. Foglift's guide lists Profound among the vendors publishing an official MCP surface and records its REST API as Enterprise only. Profound's pricing page (rendered 23 September 2026) offers brands a free 7-day trial and a custom Enterprise plan, so there is no published price for the plan that includes MCP, and neither inventory says whether the trial reaches it. We have not scored it for that reason.

Strengths
17 tools counted by a checkable method, and the widest engine set on its Enterprise plan
Read-only by design, which is the safer default for a reporting connection
Limitations
No published brand price, and the plan that includes MCP is not stated
Read only; any action runs in the Profound app
VerdictFine if you are already an Enterprise customer. Not a reason to start a contract. Compare vs Prefer →
11

Asva AI

asvaai.com
OAuth, named tools Plan and price not stated in our sources

Asva AI's MCP page (updated September 2026) documents a server at mcp.asvaai.com/mcp over Streamable HTTP with OAuth 2.1 and PKCE, per-client setup steps, and seven tools by name: list_brands, get_brand_visibility, get_share_of_voice, get_citation_metrics, get_prompt_responses, generate_visibility_audit and generate_llms_txt, across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot, Grok, Meta AI and Google AI Mode. The same page claims that no competing AI visibility platform ships an installable MCP server as of September 2026; the ten other rows on this page show otherwise. The page does not state a price or the plan that includes the server, so we have not scored it.

Strengths
Seven tools named on the vendor's page, with the transport and auth spelled out
OAuth sign-in from ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor, VS Code and Windsurf
Limitations
Its 'only platform with MCP' claim is false on the evidence here, which is a reason to check its other claims
No plan or price on the MCP page in our read
VerdictGood documentation attached to a claim that does not survive this page. Verify the plan gate and read the rest with care. Visit site →

Side by side

The whole field, one table.

From the vendor pages and inventories dated in Sources. Tools named: full means the vendor lists them, partial means a third-party inventory counts or names them. Write tools: partial means writes are on a higher plan (Cituna) or the vendor's own claim (LLM Pulse). API on entry plan: partial means an add-on (ZipTie) or a second plan (Otterly's Standard). MCP on entry plan: partial means an add-on or an unconfirmed gate. Not offered here means not documented in what we read, not proof of absence. From is the first plan with MCP.

Capability comparison across the tools
ToolMCP serverTools namedWrite toolsAPI on entry planMCP on entry planFrom
Prefer ✓---- $129
Cituna ✓✓~-✓ $39
ZipTie ✓--~~ $52.75
LLM Pulse ✓~~-~ EUR 49
Qwairy ✓---✓ $89
PromptWatch ✓~✓✓✓ $95
SE Ranking ✓~-✓✓ $129
Otterly ✓~✓~- $189
Peec AI ✓~--- Ask
Profound ✓~--- Custom
Asva AI ✓✓--- Ask
FullPartialNot offered

What changed in 2026

Four shifts that reshaped the category.

This list looked different a year ago. These are the changes that moved it.

01
MCP moved from a docs footnote to a pricing-page line

In this batch, Otterly, PromptWatch, Qwairy, SE Ranking and ZipTie all print MCP on the pricing page itself, next to the plan that includes it. A year ago the phrase lived, if anywhere, in developer docs.

02
Inventories started counting tools

Two vendor lists and a GitHub list now publish tool counts from unauthenticated tools/list calls or hand checks, with dates. A vendor that names its tools gets credited; one that only says 'MCP access' gets a question mark.

03
Write tools split the category

Most servers read. A few (PromptWatch, Otterly by count, Cituna on Pro) let an agent queue a scan, draft or publish. Read-only by design, as Profound and Prefer's docs put it, is now a stated choice rather than a gap.

04
'Only platform with MCP' became a claim to check

Asva AI's page says no competitor ships an installable server. Ten rows on this page, each dated, say otherwise. Expect more of these claims as MCP becomes the feature buyers ask about.

Red flags

Things to check before you sign.

Every tool here demos well. These are the questions that separate them once the trial ends.

An 'only platform with MCP' claim

It is false on the evidence here and easy to check. Treat it as a signal about the rest of the page.

MCP access with no tool list

If the vendor names the feature but not the tools, you cannot plan a workflow around it. Ask for the tools/list output before you buy.

MCP gated to a custom contract

Conductor's server is custom-quoted only, per CitedIndex, and Profound's only brand plan is custom. Ask what the quote assumes.

A cheap plan that has neither

Otterly's $29 Lite and ZipTie's trial have no API or MCP. Read the plan row, not the headline price.

Write tools you did not ask for

A server that can publish content is a server an agent can misuse. Ask which writes exist, on which plan, and whether you can scope a key to reads.

Tool counts from someone else's check

Several counts here come from third-party inventories dated August and September 2026. Useful pointers, not guarantees; confirm on the vendor's docs.

This list is for teams that want their AI visibility data inside Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor or another MCP client, without building an integration. Our pick is Prefer: MCP access starts on Growth ($129 a month) and queries all five engines Prefer tracks, with API access on the same plan. It is not the cheapest MCP entry here: Cituna, ZipTie, Qwairy and PromptWatch start lower. If you are choosing a tracker first and MCP is one column among many, the best AI visibility tools roundup fits better; for how Prefer’s own access works, plan by plan, see API and MCP access.

What we did: read each vendor’s pricing page in a rendered browser (Qwairy and SE Ranking on 26 September 2026, Otterly and PromptWatch on 23 September, ZipTie from its page HTML on 26 September), read the vendor MCP pages that Cituna and Asva AI publish, and cross-checked four dated third-party inventories (LLM Pulse, CitedIndex, the awesome-seo-mcp list on GitHub, Best GEO Software, plus Foglift’s guide). We did not connect to the rival servers ourselves. Where a fact comes from an inventory rather than the vendor, the item says so.

Which plan turns MCP on#

The first question is not whether a tool “has MCP”. It is which plan includes it, and what else that plan makes you buy. The table quotes each vendor’s own pricing page where we rendered it, and a dated inventory where we did not.

ToolPlan that includes MCPWhat it costsAPISource
Prefer (our product)Growth and above$129/moAPI on Growth and abovePrefer docs, integrations
CitunaStarter (reads); Pro and Max (writes)$39/mo; writes from $119/moAsk (FAQ covers it; not in our read)cituna.com/mcp, updated 12 September 2026
ZipTieAny paid configuration, as an add-onFrom $42.75/mo plus $10/moREST in the same add-onziptie.ai/pricing, HTML read 26 September 2026
LLM PulseSelf-serve, per its own listFrom EUR 49/moNot in the source we readLLM Pulse inventory, updated 14 September 2026
QwairyStarter$89/moREST API on Growth, $229/moqwairy.co/pricing, rendered 26 September 2026
PromptWatchEssential$95/moSame planpromptwatch.com/pricing, rendered 23 September 2026
SE RankingCore$129/mo; AI search prompts need the $89/mo add-on25K API credits on Coreseranking.com/subscription, rendered 26 September 2026
OtterlyStandard (Lite has neither)$189/moSame planotterly.ai/pricing, rendered 23 September 2026
Peec AINot statedAskEnterprise, per Fogliftawesome-seo-mcp, September 2026
ProfoundNot stated; the only brand plan is customCustomEnterprise, per FogliftLLM Pulse inventory, check of 12 August 2026
Asva AINot statedAskNot in the source we readasvaai.com/mcp, September 2026

Three of the eleven include MCP on the first paid plan with no add-on: Cituna, Qwairy and PromptWatch. Prefer starts it one plan up, on Growth; its Starter plan has no MCP, API or data export. ZipTie is close, at $10 on top of any paid configuration. Otterly’s $29 Lite plan is the trap on this list: it has neither API nor MCP, so its real entry price for this feature is $189.

Which servers name their tools#

A server you can plan around has a published tool list. Only two vendors on this list publish one on their own pages: Cituna (sixteen tools, twelve reads and four writes, with the plan each needs) and Asva AI (seven, from list_brands to generate_llms_txt, with OAuth setup steps).

Four more are counted or named by third-party inventories. LLM Pulse’s unauthenticated tools/list check on 12 August 2026 found 17 read-only tools on Profound, 17 on Otterly (11 reads, 6 writes) and 217 on SE Ranking, roughly 40 of them for AI search. Best GEO Software (6 September 2026) names PromptWatch’s getCitations, getCompetitorHeatmap, listContentGapPrompts, createContent and publishContentLive. Prefer, Qwairy and ZipTie describe the data the server returns without naming tools, and LLM Pulse states a count of about 85 on its own list, which we did not verify.

If the vendor has not published a list, ask for the output of a tools/list call before you sign. It takes a minute, and it is what the inventories on this page did.

Prefer: MCP from Growth, writes in the app#

Prefer is our product, and we ranked it first. Read this section with that in mind. MCP access is included on Growth and above: generate a key under Settings, Integrations, API and MCP, add it to Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor or any MCP client, and query the data the dashboard shows across ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode. Starter has no MCP, API or data export. API access is on the same plans, scheduled warehouse sync is Enterprise only, and Agency Enterprise lists full API and MCP access together.

Where Prefer is not the answer:

  • You want the cheapest MCP entry. Prefer starts on Growth; Cituna, ZipTie, Qwairy and PromptWatch start lower.
  • You want tool names in the docs today. Ours describe the server in prose. Cituna and Asva AI publish their lists.
  • You want an agent to write over MCP. Prefer’s MCP is a read path. Drafting, publishing and queued fixes run in Action Center, where each change is tied to a prompt and re-measured. PromptWatch and Otterly have write tools per a dated inventory.

If none of those apply, start with a free AI visibility audit or see the plans on the pricing page. Agencies running clients through one key should read Prefer for agencies.

The tools we did not rank#

Semrush and Ahrefs run official MCP servers with published endpoints, per the awesome-seo-mcp list (hand-checked September 2026); LLM Pulse’s check counted roughly 22 brand tools on Ahrefs and found Semrush’s list not published. They are SEO suites with an AI visibility module, so they sit on the best AI visibility tools list with that caveat. Conductor has a server on a custom-quoted contract only (CitedIndex, 12 September 2026). AthenaHQ had no public MCP guide and Evertune no customer-facing API or MCP published, per Foglift and CitedIndex. LLMrefs includes API access on its $79 plan, but MCP appears nowhere on its site and its /mcp path returned a 404 on 26 September 2026. HubSpot AEO’s product page mentions neither (rendered 26 September 2026); read that as “not listed”, not “does not have”.

How we built this list#

  • Inclusion: a tool made the ranked list when its own page, a rendered pricing read or a dated inventory documents an MCP server with at least an endpoint or a plan gate. Pages read 23 to 26 September 2026; inventories dated 6 to 19 September, with LLM Pulse’s counts from a 12 August check.
  • Order: Prefer first, as our pick and our product. The rest by the price of the first plan with MCP, lowest first; the three whose gate no source states (Peec AI, Profound, Asva AI) go last.
  • Scores: five dimensions on a printed scale, from the facts above only. Peec AI, Profound and Asva AI are unscored (no documented MCP plan or price); LLM Pulse is unscored (its only source is its own list).
  • Not done: we did not connect to any rival server or run a tools/list call ourselves.

For the full price lists behind these plans, see the AI visibility tool pricing review. For what the MCP server reads on Prefer, see Answer Engine Insights.

People also ask

The questions buyers ask next.

It means the tool runs a Model Context Protocol server that an AI assistant can call directly, so you can ask Claude or ChatGPT for your citation numbers instead of exporting them. Prefer includes it on Growth and above. What you can do depends on the tools the server exposes: reads for reporting, and on some servers writes such as queuing a scan or publishing content.

On the sources dated on this page: Prefer (API from Growth), PromptWatch (Essential), Otterly (Standard), ZipTie ($10 add-on), SE Ranking (API credits on Core), Qwairy (REST API on Growth), LLMrefs (its $79 plan), AccuRanker (LLM Pro), and Peec AI and Profound on Enterprise. Cituna's FAQ covers REST availability, but our read did not record the answer.

See Prefer's API and MCP access →

No. Prefer offers both from Growth, but they are different surfaces. An API is endpoints your code calls. MCP is a standard that lets an assistant call the vendor's tools without custom code. Qwairy, Peec AI and Profound split the two across plans.

It depends on how the tool scopes keys. Prefer's Agency Enterprise lists full API and MCP access; Otterly's Standard has unlimited workspaces with MCP included; SE Ranking's Agency Pack is a separate add-on. Ask whether one key sees every client or one.

See Prefer for agencies →

Questions

Asked plainly.

Which AI search visibility tools have MCP access?

Prefer does, from its Growth plan ($129 a month), with API access on the same plans. As of the dated reads on this page, so do Cituna (reads from its $39 Starter), ZipTie ($10 a month add-on), Qwairy (Starter, $89), PromptWatch (Essential, $95), SE Ranking (Core, $129), Otterly (Standard, $189) and LLM Pulse (self-serve from 49 euros, per its own list). Peec AI, Profound and Asva AI run documented servers whose plan gate our sources do not state. Semrush and Ahrefs have official servers too. Conductor gates MCP to a custom contract, and AthenaHQ, Evertune and LLMrefs had no public MCP documentation when we checked.

What is MCP access in an AI visibility tool?

MCP access means the tool runs a Model Context Protocol server, so an AI assistant such as Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor can call the tool's data directly. Prefer's MCP access, for example, lets you ask your assistant which prompts you lost citations on and it queries Prefer for the answer, instead of you exporting a CSV. What you can ask depends on the tools the server exposes: most are reads (visibility, citations, share of voice, answer text); a few vendors add writes (queue a scan, create or publish content).

Does Prefer have MCP access?

Yes. Prefer includes MCP access from Growth ($129 a month); Starter has no MCP, no API and no data export. You generate an MCP key in Settings under Integrations, API and MCP, connect it to any MCP client, and query your tracked prompts, mentions, citations, sentiment and share of voice across ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode. API access is on the same plans, and scheduled warehouse sync is Enterprise only. The docs describe the server in prose rather than as a named tool list, and writes stay in the app.

Is MCP access the same as an API?

No. Prefer, for example, offers both from Growth, but they are different surfaces. An API is a set of endpoints your own code calls; you build and maintain the integration. MCP is a standard that lets an assistant call a vendor's tools without custom code. Several tools split them the same way: Qwairy has MCP on Starter and its REST API on Growth, and Peec AI and Profound put the REST API on Enterprise. PromptWatch, Otterly, ZipTie and SE Ranking include both on the same plan.

Which AI visibility tools have write tools over MCP?

Few, and mostly on third-party evidence. Prefer's MCP is a read path; drafting and publishing run in Action Center. Best GEO Software's inventory (6 September 2026) names createContent and publishContentLive on PromptWatch's server. LLM Pulse's check (12 August 2026) counted 6 write tools on Otterly's and 17 read-only tools on Profound's. Cituna's own page lists four writes (run_scan, set_gap_status, queue_article, mark_article_published) on Pro and Max. Confirm on the vendor's docs before you let an agent write.

Is Asva AI the only AI visibility platform with an MCP server?

No. Prefer includes MCP access from its Growth plan, and Cituna, Otterly, PromptWatch, Qwairy, ZipTie, SE Ranking, Peec AI, Profound and LLM Pulse all document servers on their own pages or on dated inventories, as this page lists with sources. Asva AI's MCP page says no competing platform ships an installable MCP server as of September 2026. Treat the claim as a reason to check the rest of that page.

What does MCP access cost on an AI visibility tool?

Prefer includes it from Growth, $129 a month, with no add-on; Starter has no MCP, and several tools here start lower. Across the tools on this page, the first plan with MCP runs from $39 (Cituna, reads only) through $52.75 (ZipTie's cheapest preset plus its $10 add-on), $89 (Qwairy), $95 (PromptWatch) and $129 (SE Ranking, plus $89 for AI search prompts) to $189 (Otterly). Profound prices its only brand plan by custom quote, and Peec AI and Asva AI do not state the plan in the sources we read.

How to choose

Answer a few questions and the shortlist writes itself.

01
Do you want the assistant to read, or to act?

Reads are enough for reporting: Prefer covers that from Growth, and Cituna, Qwairy and ZipTie on cheaper plans. If an agent should draft or publish, PromptWatch and Otterly have write tools per an inventory, and Cituna has four on Pro.

02
Do you need a tool list in writing?

Prefer does not: its docs describe the server in prose, not as a named tool list. Cituna and Asva AI publish theirs. For the rest, ask the vendor for its tools/list output or rely on a dated inventory and say so in your own notes.

03
Do you also need the REST API?

PromptWatch, Otterly, ZipTie and SE Ranking put both on one plan. Prefer, Qwairy, Peec AI and Profound put the API a tier or more above MCP.

04
Are you buying the tracker or the server?

MCP is a way to reach data. Prefer's MCP queries all five engines it tracks from Growth, but if the data behind a server is 15 prompts on 4 engines, the server does not help. Pick the tracker on prompts, engines and price first, then check the MCP row.

Get your free AI visibility report
in about 10 minutes.

See how answer engines describe your brand today, and where the openings are to outpace the competition.